Battle.net and RealID

The hot topic today seems to be the issues with the upcoming Battle.net and RealID features.

I agree with most people out there. This is not what I was expecting. I was hoping for something more along the lines of using an IM, where you will be seen as your nickname and you can choose to appear online or off, and thereby limiting contact.

If things do not change, I will not be using this feature. I can think of only one person on my friends list that I would want to have the ability to find me regardless of game/server. That person has my phone number. They can text or call me if they want me.

I love the idea of being able to communicate with friends across realms and games, but I do not want these “friends” to know my name and know where I am at all times. Do not even get me started about how it is going to be linked into Facebook. I am planning on deleting my Facebook account anyway. It isn’t really serving any purpose for me.

Other folks who’ve been talking about this:
Tarinae at A Healadin’s Tear
Spinks at Spinksville
Zelmaru at Murloc Parliament
Shy at Shy at WoW
Hatch at Escape Hatch

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

