Girl stuff

A post by The Bossy Pally made about Women and WoW.

I tend to avoid discussing gender issues. I try not to flaunt the fact that I’m female. I try very hard to make it a non-issue. I do this, not because I’m ashamed or fearful, but because I don’t think it should be a concern.

Growing up my parents taught me to disregard race, and I think they did a very good job of this. I’m not going to sit here and pretend that I have no prejudices. I don’t think that’s humanly possible. We are judgemental creatures. But I can say that I treat every person I meet with respect and kindness unless they show me some reason not to, and I do so regardless of race, gender, age, etc.

I’m also not going to sit here and claim that I’ve never felt like I’ve been crapped on just because I’m female in WoW. It happens. People will discriminate. But just as I get crapped on for being female, that same jerkface is likely to find some fault with anyone over anything. The world of Azeroth is full of trolls. The trick is learning to ignore them.

It still bothers me when I hear the trolls talk garbage about how girls don’t play WoW, and if they do then they probably weight 1000 pounds, either that or they can’t play well. There may be some truth to the statement. I am overweight, but I certainly don’t weigh 1000 pounds. More and more, I find myself turning trade chat off when I’m in the city.

The irony for me is that I truly feel like I’ve had more social difficulty relating to other women in WoW than to other men. I can’t stand the cutesy girls who constantly flirt. I’ve seen such drama destroy guilds. I am beyond thankful that the other 4 women in my guild are very down to earth.

In fact, I’m almost worried they think I’m the cutesy flirty type. A little flirting is bound to happen, right? I’m very dedicated to the one I love, so it’s all just teasing and I’m fairly certain everyone understands that.

What was the point of this post?

Meh… I forget…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

