Ignis the PUG killer?

After neglecting to do the random weekly raid quest for several weeks, I randomly decided today was the day to do it. In case the title didn’t give it away, the weekly on my realm was Ignis.

I think I probably should have been worried when the Raid Leader told me we would probably one shot it. It turned out that 7 out of 10 people had never even been to Ulduar. We wiped on Flame Levi. ‘Nuff said.

Strangely enough, I stuck with it. We wiped once on Ignis’ trash (tornados of doom). And proceeded to wipe 3 more times on Ignis before downing him.

The first 2 wipes were because the tanks were still learning the strategy (neither of them had tanked Ulduar before). When the strat was first explained to the main tank, he was told to kite Ignis in 4 corners. Well, he took that literally to mean the 4 corners of the room, so we all spent all of our time chasing the tank around the room until I just couldn’t keep in range and he died. It took him one more try to get the hang of kiting within range of the healers and ranged dps. 3rd wipe was just unlucky. I got put in Ignis’ belly, while the other healer somehow got demolished by adds.

I think next time I’m gonna try and find a better group, even though we managed it…

One Response to Ignis the PUG killer?

  1. […] My post about Ignis was just that, a rant about Ignis being a potential PUG killer. […]

Leave a Reply

