Girls Don’t Play WoW

Why does it irritate me so much when this gets said in /2, besides the obvious, that I am a girl and I play WoW?

I think what gets to me the most is the fear of sticking up for myself and saying that I am a girl. I shouldn’t have to feel afraid of that. I should be able to say it and people should be able to accept it.

Instead, I typically don’t say a thing and sit and steam about it.

Why, you might ask?

Because if I come out and say I’m a girl then I will be barraged with either “No you’re not. Pics or its not true. Get on vent and prove it.” Or, I’ll get barraged with, “You’re only making it a point to say you’re a girl to get attention. You probably play worth a shit and get handed all your epics. Drama queen!” Or, even worse, “A/S/L? Wanna cyber?”

Now, one could argue that the initial person who made the statement “Girls don’t play WoW,” was only saying it to stir shit up. Perhaps that is true, and in that case, I guess I shouldn’t be offended. Strangely enough, I still do feel offended.

Girls of WoW, what do you do when this happens? Do you act like me and just keep it inside? Does it even bother you?

3 Responses to Girls Don’t Play WoW

  1. Val says:

    Generally I’ll ignore it, seeing as people stating ‘girls don’t play wow’ are actually the ones whoring (no, not whoring, dicking?) for attention I have no desire to encourage. If I’m in a crappy mood I might /agree or something, because sarcasm is great for stress-relief.

    But yeah, in the odd chance that I’m camping /trade I try not to get offended by the crap that goes on there. I’m a girl, I play wow, and I’m fucking good at it. The people that are important (i.e. guildies, friendlist etc) know that, and that’s all that matters.

    Hmm, and if the ‘conversation’ develops into sexism/girl-bashing, there’s a pretty little report button I wouldn’t hesitate to use.

    I’m almost tempted to think that the person who claimed ‘girls don’t play wow’ first was actually a girl. But that might be just me πŸ˜‰ Hope you don’t let what goes on in /trade get to you so much (that said, if you’re offended, report ’em!) because they’re so not worth your energy.

    Take care!

    • I don’t usually get offended by the things that go on in trade chat, and if I do a quick /ignore usually solves it. This particular situation, I was scoping out a new realm on a lowbie alt, and what began as a simple “Girls don’t play WoW” which normally I would have just chuckled at and moved on, turned into a half hour of girl bashing by several people. It really kind of shocked me. It really bothered me that I didn’t have the courage to stick up for myself and other women.

      The server I’m currently on is actually really nice for the most part, albeit not very well progressed. Naturally, I’ve decided this other server isn’t a good fit for me.

      • Val says:

        Ah, in that case I’m with you on the frustration, but I’m pretty I’d have gotten stuck in the same dilemma – speak up and get dicked at, or shut up and feel like a traitor… I’d probably fall for the latter, and feel horrible about it, too.

        I’m glad you’ve found a friendlier server, and I’m pretty certain that your old server won’t last very long (at least, all the people worth knowing will have left πŸ˜‰ ) if they keep up that social environment.

Leave a Reply

