Needing Paladin Roleplay Advice

I ended up deleting Amarriel last night. She wasn’t turning out very well. What fun is a backwater farmer’s daughter come to the big city, and now finds herself overwhelmed and with social anxiety? The only thing that was helping me keep going with her was the rp buddy I had made in game.

So, in the end, I do want a Holy Paladin. I love paladins as a class, I know I can play them, since I’ve done it before. I want to learn how to heal on a paladin. Lore-wise, I love the idea of a holy avenger. My trouble is how Blood Elves fit into that.

The whole thing with Mu’ru and the Sunwell and sucking the light out of a Naaru is terribly difficult to swallow. Yes, the Blood Knights were mislead by Kael’thas, but… Really, wouldn’t you know prior to all this that imprisoning the naaru and using it for power is wrong? I guess it comes down to alignment. It seems most Blood Elves are Chaotic Evil and only looking out for themselves. This is not who I want my character to be.

So, here is what I am thinking for my character, just so I can explain why I am not associating myself with the Blood Knights, if I am asked, and how I am wielding the light.

My paladin will have been a scholar studying ancient texts and religions from around the world. With the the destruction of Silvermoon by the Scourge and the troubles thereafter with the Burning Legion and Kael’thas, she was there and discovered an innate ability to touch the light and heal those who were wounded and to wield the light against those who would defile it (the scourge, the wretched, etc.) She staunchly refused to join the Blood Knights, but still continued to aid in the efforts to set things right.

So essentially, would it be acceptable to be a self taught paladin? Can I do this without being shunned by the RP community? I think it’s plausible, but I’m new to this. Am I making a Mary Sue?

Edit: Don’t think I am abandoning my lovely barefoot mage. I love roleplaying Amastrea Frostlight. However, I find myself preferring to stay in Silvermoon and RP, than leveling her. I want the best of both worlds. I want a character I will love to play and RP, hence the paladin.

2 Responses to Needing Paladin Roleplay Advice

  1. Saga says:

    Hmm.. I’m no expert on WoW RP – but the story seems plausible to me. I’d think that as long as people don’t start saying that they single-handedly defeated the Burning Legion or something they’re quite safe 🙂

  2. Well, I certainly never would do that. Here’s hoping other people will accept it also.

Leave a Reply

