Guild Abandonment

As I mentioned in a previous post, my guild on Cairne has been completely dead lately. I couldn’t even find an officer to let them know I was abandoning ship. Today, I found out why. They are on Malorne, horde side.

I’m a little upset, but at the same time, how can I be upset?

I wish someone would have told me (if you’re reading this, you know who you are).

I have abandoned the guild numerous times throughout the course of WotLK and begged my way back. Why should I expect them to tell me when they move on? Maybe because I thought we were friends? All of the times I have left I think were for reasonable reasons and I never left without an explanation (I don’t think).

I know we’ve grown apart. I know I’m flaky and emotional at times, but for the most part when I say I’ll be there, I am there. I have often bent over backwards to help guildies, with little to no benefit for myself. I know I’ve been gone, but there were some people that I did still keep in touch with. Someone could have said something.

The fact that no one said anything leads me to believe that I’m not wanted. That’s fine. It honestly doesn’t surprise me.

The bottom line for me, I guess, is that it is well past time for me to make some new WoW friends.

/delete friends list (except for a few)

6 Responses to Guild Abandonment

  1. Val says:

    /comfort

    I’m sorry about what happened to you, feeling abandoned is never fun, doesn’t matter if its in game, or out.

  2. Val says:

    …and I managed to press submit comment before being finished. Well done Val, well done -.-

    Was going to say that I tend to get overly attached to my online friends, and I get upset when they just poof without telling me.

    Hopefully you’ll find a new guild with new friends soon, and continue having fun in the social game which is WoW ❀

    /hug
    – Val

  3. Saga says:

    That really sucks 😦

    As Val says, it’s never nice to feel abandoned. I was thinking of leaving my guild and going horde recently (ended up not doing it) – but if I had, I definitely would have told them. Not just because I’m an Officer, but because it’s just the polite thing to do.

    Of course some guild members I consider more friends than others. But in the end, just disappearing without telling seems rather rude. If nothing else they could at least have put it in the Guild Info or the Message of the Day section of the guild that you see when you logon.

    I’m sure you’ll find new WoW friends though! πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for the kind thoughts. I’m guessing they didn’t put it in the GMotD because they didn’t really want everyone to follow, and apparently I am one of those intended to be left out.

    Oh well, here’s hoping I find some new friendly people.

  5. Tam says:

    I know it’s always miserable when you drift away from people (or they highttail it to another server) but to be honest it sounded like it was time for you to move on anyway….

    Good luck – Azeroth is a big place and full of awesome folks πŸ™‚

  6. You’re absolutely right, Tam. I’ve been living with my old friends just because they are my old friends, while they are still good friends (or at least I thought they were), their play style was no longer fitting with mine.

    My concern is that I’ve never been one to make friends easily. I tend to make a few close friends and keep them forever (if I can). Internet gaming relationships are not meant to be like that. Hopefully I can adapt.

Leave a Reply

