DPS Meters

Do they really serve any purpose?

After reading Rhii’s post at I Sheep Things about Skada vs Recount, it left me with a bad taste in my mouth about meters in general.

I’ve noticed for a while that my Recount may not show the same numbers as your Recount. Some have said that Skada is more accurate because it is closer to World of Logs. It seems to me that there is some inaccuracy variable that is there in all metering situations.

I’ve been debating switching to Skada lately, for two reasons.

  1. It is a lighter addon.
  2. It tracks absorbs.

Now, I’m beginning to wonder if it matters at all. It seems that no matter which we choose, something is going to make the information we receive inaccurate. I’ve rarely seen two people involved in the same fight link the exact same numbers from meters, even when using the same addon.

I guess perhaps I should just accept it as it is, a general idea of the amount, and not absolute truth. I won’t stop using meters, but it sure would be nice to have something universal that was actually true.

One Response to DPS Meters

  1. Aurdon says:

    Personally I think the meters are mainly an ego trip when it comes to dps. They should take away the raw numbers in that view and maybe do % based performance. Many people just look at the number and assume that player was the best when you really need to see who was contributing to utility (counter spell, interrupts, decurse) and what classes had to move a bunch during the encounter but couldn’t keep up dps during those phases due to class mechanics and cast bars. (elemental shaman for instance)

    It goes hand and hand with the gear score discussions. Having a high gear score doesn’t mean your a great player, just and indication that you’ve done high end content and have invested the time.

Leave a Reply

