Guild Update

Social vs. Raiding

I like the people in the guild. I enjoy being in vent with them. I like that they pull me into heroics and other shenanigans.

I still want to raid. I am an alt for their teams. What does that mean? It means I don’t get to raid unless someone doesn’t show up. The problem? Healers are very reliable. I am never going to get to raid. When I mentioned it, the Raid Leader suggested that I offspec Shadow.

This is one of my biggest pet peeves. I have never specced Shadow. I have a full set of T9 Shadow gear and a list of gems/enchants that will allow me to be hit capped, but I have never specced Shadow. I’m terrified of it. Irrational as it may be, switching to ranged dps is a big issue for me. Obviously, at one point I intended to do it since I got the gear, but for some reason I just can’t make the leap.

When I applied to the guild I made clear what my spec was. My main spec is Disc for PVE healing. My offspec is Disc for PVP. If they didn’t want me as I was then they should not have accepted me.

Which brings me to my issue…

There has been no clear communication about raiding. I was taken on the first day of ICC for the guild’s Team A group last week on the day that I joined the guild. I was passed over for the 2nd day of that ICC because they didn’t think I could handle Dreamwalker as Disc.

When I was interviewed, I asked the GM about raid rules. He said it was on their website. I didn’t get access to the website until yesterday.

So yesterday I went through and read everything.

These are the set groups, this is when Group A raids, this is when Group B raids. If you are an Alternate for these groups you sign up as tentative (you may or may not go). You may not PUG any 10 mans until Sunday.

So, there have been no sign ups for raids since I joined. Last night was Tuesday night. Group A is supposed to be going to ICC. I am an alt. I wait. I wait some more. Officers are in the officer channel on vent talking about God knows what.

Raids are supposed to start at 8:00 pm server time. At 9:00 pm they start getting a group together for Ruby Sanctum. I wait. Finally, tired of waiting, I ask if they are taking Group A to Ruby Sanctum. I get multiple responses of no, I’m in Group B and I’m going. Ok, fine. I ask if I am needed for the Ruby Sanctum run? No, we’re full. Ok, fine.

I suggest that communication about raids should be a bit more clear. They respond with, we didn’t even know we were going to do this. Well, that’s fine. But at some point, much earlier in the night, you must have decided not to do ICC, at which point people should have been told.

I don’t think I’m being unreasonable. As an alt, I feel like I should be notified in a fairly prompt manner if I am going to be needed for the night. I wasted an hour when I could have been on an alt or doing something productive.

I sent a letter in game to the GM about my concerns. I’m a little worried that they are going to think I’m causing drama. I don’t mean to be, but I expect to at least be told if a raid is canceled.

It makes me really sad, because I sincerely like these people.

If all I wanted from the guild was the social aspect I would have stayed in my old guild. I want to raid. I don’t want to be an alt. I want to be able to raid every week with my guild.

Maybe I just expect too much. Maybe there can’t be social friendly guilds that raid. Maybe if I want to raid I have to join one of those horrible guilds full of assholes that only care about their epeen.

The more I think about it the more I think that in order to get what I want I have to start my own guild. The problem is that I just don’t have the time, energy, nor the skill to cope with it.

Back to playing alts most of the time, I guess. 😦

Leave a Reply

