Ch-ch-ch-changes!

Obligatory RealID and Talent Tree changes post

RealID:

I’ve made it very clear that I am not currently using RealID in game, and why. Many, many people are discussing RealID both throughout the blogosphere and on the official forums.

Just as I am not using it in game, I will not be using it on the forums either, which means I will no longer be using the forums. That’s ok. I have an outlet here on my blog where I’m not required to provide my full name.

What frustrates me more than anything is the feeling that Blizzard knew how we were going to react and went ahead with it anyway. They are doing this for a reason. By their own admission this had been planned for a long time. There is no way they can claim ignorance. Ultimately this leads me to believe what Hatch has said at Escape Hatch, that Blizzard’s customer base is no longer the player, but Facebook, and now we are just another commodity to them. This alone is not enough to make me quit the game, but the next big thing to shake things up may be enough to do it.

Adam at The Noisy Rogue has suggested that this is an opportunity for gamers to come out of the closet so to speak, essentially claiming that those of us who don’t want our names out there are cowards. That we must throw off the shackles of oppression and be proud gamers. That’s fine. That’s wonderful. I’m not ashamed of who I am, nor am I afraid to have my name out there. The problem is that I signed an agreement with my current employer not to write in any public forums under my full real name since it can be linked back to the company. Unfortunately my job is far more important to me than WoW, so bye-bye forums.

Jana at I Like Pancakes thinks maybe this is just a ploy to destroy the mess that is the WoW forums. Honestly, this was my initial reaction too. No one will use the forums if their real name is linked to their posts. This means no more need for all those moderators and all the work of attempting to keep the forums tidy and ever-failing. But, honestly, going about it in this way, pretending to be customer friendly, but really just saying screw you, is not the way to make this change. It would have been better to just take the forums down, so I’m not sure that this is what is really going on.

I’ve decided that if there are issues in game that come up and I want Blizzard to be aware of my opinion, I’ll be making a GM ticket in game. This will ensure that my opinion is heard by someone at Blizzard, but that my real name is not plastered all over the forums.

I’m actually half tempted to start a new account under an assumed name. In retrospect, this is what we all should have done in the first place, but who could have foreseen that this is the direction Blizzard would take? I had assumed that my personal information would be quite safe with this giant in the gaming industry.

I know I am not the only one doing this, and I’d actually been intending to get rid of it for a while anyway. ~runs off to deactivate my Facebook account~

Talent Trees

31 point talent trees? Must stay within the chosen talent tree until you’ve reached the bottom of the tree? Interesting…

I have to admit I’m both excited and nervous for these changes. Since there isn’t a ton of detailed information out yet, I’m going to refrain from forming an opinion. In fact, you may not see an opinion from me about talent trees until the expansion is actually released. Things are changing, a lot and fast.

One thing I will comment on:

Blizzard has indicated the intention to have even early talent points be meaningful and to have class/spec specializations earlier in the trees. This is a good thing. However, I can completely see myself sitting in Ironforge, bantering in my old woman voice, “Back in my day we had to wait until level 60 to get Penance, and we were thankful for it!”

2 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-changes!

  1. Adam says:

    Actually I was not referring to coming out on the forums, as I think that is unlikely to be in your best interests. I was referring to people worrying that their co-workers would find out that they are a gamer, and the whole fact that they hide it and are ashamed of it.

    • I knew you were referring to coming out to co-workers and employers that you are a gamer. My employer and co-workers are aware that I’m a gamer. They think I’m weird, and I’m okay with that.

      I only mentioned my situation because not everyone is able to just flaunt their gamer-ness under their real name, not for lack of courage, but for other reasons.

      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

