Grown Ups Don’t Play WoW?

The kiddies are out of school and my trade chat is now off until Fall.

What prompted this?

Well, it wasn’t the Anal Spam, although that should be enough to do it.

It was the debate in trade the other night that only kids play WoW. The general gist of the conversation was if you are an adult and you play WoW then you’re pathetic.

I didn’t get involved, I just turned trade off at that point, but it bothered me.

I know, I shouldn’t let the 12 year olds get on my nerves like that, when they say things that are obviously coming from their severe lack of experience.

It bothered me anyway. I think it may be the shyness/self-esteem thing rearing it’s ugly head, but I started thinking, “Maybe I am pathetic.” Recently, my parents told me that they think I’m addicted to the game and they are worried about me. So it made me wonder.

I don’t see how me playing a few hours of an MMO each night is any more or less pathetic than what most other adults do (watch tv, play Bejeweled, etc).

My parents watch tv or play Bejeweled all night after dinner until bedtime. Are they addicted to tv and Bejeweled?

Why do the words pathetic and addiction get tossed around when related to WoW or other MMOs, but not to other things?

I honestly don’t think I’m addicted to WoW. In fact, over the weekend I think I played a total of maybe 3 hours, because I was busy with other things (granted one of those things was blogging). Is blogging pathetic? Am I addicted to blogging?

My response to my parents about being addicted to WoW was simple. I could quit WoW, but I don’t see how it is any different from what you guys do every night, in fact I’d argue that playing WoW is healthier than watching hours of mindless television. If I quit WoW I would just find a different computer game to play. At least with WoW I am getting some social interaction as well.

But honestly, I don’t really consider myself a grown up. I’m 30 years old, but I know I still have a lot to learn about the world, and maybe I’ll always feel that way.

To all the kiddies who only want to play with other kiddies, I suggest you go play Hello Kitty Online, and leave WoW to us grown ups. 😀

4 Responses to Grown Ups Don’t Play WoW?

  1. Erinys says:

    I think part of the problem is that people who don’t play WoW or similar games, just don’t understand it.

    When I first mentioned WoW in passing to my parents, my mother went crazy. Yet, compared to what I did in my teenage years, I feel WoW is a relatively safe hobby. I still play sport, I still read plenty of books, in fact I still do all the stuff I did before WoW. Yet, my mother seems to think that it’s going to turn me into a mindless zombie. In the end I gave up trying to explain and she thinks I quit about four years ago. Which I freely admit is rather sad, but I dislike being lectured about how I choose to spend my free time.

    There is still a real stigma attached to “adults” playing games, yet there are probably more adults playing WoW than kids. It’s just that adults don’t populate the trade channel that often.

    • I think you’re right, the majority of the people I have met in game have been 18+. I think true children are the minority, and for good reason. I’m not sure I’d want my hypothetical child exposed to some of the things said in trade or general chat even if masked by symbols.

      Hmm… perhaps it’s time to stage a “Take Back /2” demonstration?

      ~stumbles off to see if I can come up with a viable event~

  2. Saga says:

    I’m with Erinys on this. I think that people who don’t play MMOs or any game really just don’t understand it. My mom think it’s horrible that I spend so much time on the computer – but she spends as much time in front of the tv, so I don’t really see the difference.

    While there are plenty of kids playing WoW I’m tempted to say that there are more adults. We have a couple of younger people in my guild but most of us range from 20-30ish in age.

Leave a Reply

