Why Do We Need a Priest?

We don’t.

I have to admit I’m feeling a touch of resentment, and it’s no one’s fault. It’s the fault of the fight mechanics. I can be there for some fights, but others I have to sit out on, just because of my class/spec.

It’s almost as if in order to see all of the boss fights in Wrath I have to have all different kinds of healer characters. I’m not sure what has changed. I didn’t feel this way when raiding in BC.

The Priest class is versatile and perfect for 5 mans. When you get into anything bigger you might as well set your Priest aside. Disc Priests aren’t as effective at tank healing as Paladins. Holy Priests aren’t as effective at raid healing as Shamans or Druids.

This is a hard pill to swallow. I rolled a Priest because I wanted to heal, and I fell in love with healing. Now, I rather feel useless. Perhaps, I’m just not that good at it, but others have told me differently. I truly feel like the only reason I get to raid is because of Priest buffs. The Priest class was designed to be a healer. That’s what a Priest is. And still, I feel mediocre in comparison to the other classes.

This has been my primary motivation for leveling Vivacious. I need a different type of healer, so I can actually do something other than 5 mans.

Time to get serious about this alt, because I think it may end up being my main.

I’m almost hoping that I find I really enjoy either my rogue or my mage when Cata comes out. DPS just has to be good to get into a raid.

6 Responses to Why Do We Need a Priest?

  1. Teresa says:

    Our raid team has a disc priest and we absolutely love her. Her raid-mitigation is invaluable, and she has wonderful synergy with our second ‘raid’ healer, be it Tree or Shaman for the eve.

    Trees and Shaman shine right now sure, but a Disc Priest can be a thing of absolute beauty and a Holy Priest can throw out some ridiculously good burst healing at the drop of a hat.

    Don’t knock your class, it’s a great one!

    • I agree wholeheartedly. I love my class, and I think Priests can do a lot more than they are given credit for. I’m just frustrated with raiding atm. Priests seem to be a dime a dozen, especially Disc Priests.

      I rather feel like my guild is using me just for the fights where I am useful (Saurfang and Sindy primarily). I kind of want to see all of ICC, not just select bosses.

      If there is a choice between bringing me and bringing our Holy Pally, the Holy Pally wins every time, unless there is some need for raid wide damage mitigation.

      I feel like I could be useful on any fight, but maybe I’m wrong. In 10 mans you have to bring the correct classes in order to get things done. At least this is the impression my raid leader gives me. This feels like its been a trend through Wrath, and I’d rather be wanted all the time than only occasionally.

  2. Tam says:

    Please don’t say this – it makes a very sad priest!

    I’m in love with being a priest as well – to be honest, as Teresa says above, I’ve come to terms with the fact a priest is a support-healer rather than a star healer on their own terms. They synergise so well with pretty much every other healing class in the game. I used to disc mainly with a pally and a druid and that was amazing. And, actually, although a holy priest doesn’t quite have the coverage of a resto shammy or a tree, sometimes being able to pump out a massive amount of healing over a short period can tip the balance in some fights.

    • I think part of my frustration is that my guild is 2 healing almost everything, so it’s much more important to pick the best class for each fight, which leaves me doing only part of the dungeon.

      I embraced the role of support healer back in BC, but that was because the guild I was in then was short on healers and they always wanted me with. It’s a little bit different now. My current guild has a surplus of healers and I’m the newbie. I love being a support healer, but I still want to raid consistently. Is that too much to ask?

      I think you’ve hit the nail on the head, Tam. I want to be a star.

      • Moreo says:

        We did spoil you way back when, didnt we?

        I want to level a priest because that just seems like it should be THE healing class. Shammy and Pally healing is just so easy.

      • Oh yes, you guys spoiled me to death. Now I’m unhappy in every guild I’ve been in since. We had other priests in the old guild, but for the longest time I felt like THE priest. Hehe. I taught Asah how to heal in Kara.

        I am essentially THE priest in this guild too, but the other classes really out-shine over me.

        I don’t want to discourage you from leveling a priest. As far as easiness level goes, I think you’re right, they are probably the more interesting healing class to play, lotsa spells to choose from and such.

        Every time I express my pally envy to the current guild, our holy pally reminds me it’s just two heals. Boring….

        Thank you for visiting me yesterday. ❤

Leave a Reply

