Of plans and realities

I want to do a lot. I want to do everything. There is no possible way I can do all of the things I want. Some of these are things I cannot do until Cataclysm, or do not want to do until Cataclysm.

  • I want to have a level 80 of each healing class.
  • I want to have one of every profession maxed.
  • I want to have a dwarf.
  • I want to have a gnome.
  • I want to have a goblin.
  • I want to have a worgen.
  • I want to have a mage.
  • I want to have a rogue.
  • I want to try the warlock class all over again.
  • I want to try the warrior class all over again.
  • I want to try the death knight class all over again.
  • I want to level a paladin tank through LFD as tank only.
  • I want to level a druid tank through LFD as tank only.
  • I want to have a character dedicated to PvP.
  • I want to actually have a level 80 horde toon.
  • I still want to explore roleplaying on an RP realm.
  • I still want to raid on Ama and maybe eventually on Viva.
  • I want to kill the Lich King before Cataclysm is released.

I want all of that, and I have more ideas every day, but those are the bulk of my desires. I’ll never be able to do them all. I don’t even know where to begin. I think this is why I end up creating and deleting so many low level alts. I am the kind of person who has to focus on a toon in order to really learn how to play them. If they get shelved I tend to forget how to play them.

I never know where to begin when I get overwhelmed by my desires. The things that I want are far too many. There will never be enough time, nor enough character slots on my preferred realm.

I should just focus on Ama and Viva. That’s what I had been doing, but as always happens with me, I grow restless. I want something more. I want something different. I thrive on change, and too much of the same things over and over makes me feel like quitting the game, even though there is still soooo much I want to do.

There are some days when I feel like I want to start all over from scratch. Delete all (yes, I mean it, ALL) of my characters. Start with a plan of race and class combinations, and methodically make my way through leveling each one up. Once they are all 80, decide which I enjoy the most, and focus on that one for raiding.

I won’t do that. It’s too hard to delete characters that are above level 40 (and not DKs). I struggled beyond belief when I deleted Ashelyth, my level 48 warrior on Ysera. I couldn’t bring myself to delete Ashwynn, and transferred her off of Ysera to Cairne.

I can’t start fresh without deleting, because I will just go back to Ama. I don’t know if it is truly that I love Ama and love playing the priest class, or if I am just stuck because she was my first to reach level cap, she was my first raider, she will always be the first one to be raid ready. She’s a privileged little princess.

My bestfriend asked me why I’ve been avoiding the game, and at the time I couldn’t put all of this into words. Well, here’s the answer. Kind of leaves us with more questions than answers though.

TLDR: I’m lost.

6 Responses to Of plans and realities

  1. Redbeard says:

    Well, if you work on a Paladin tank, you’ll take out two birds with one stone. You’ll not only have a Paladin tank, but dual-speccing will give you a Paladin healer. And if you do it as a Tauren Sunwalker (after Cat) or BE Pally, you’ll be able to knock out a third line.

    I know that the one thing I’d like to finish –getting Loremaster on both Horde and Alliance sides– is impossible to achieve before Cat drops. There’s way too little time to finish the Alliance side of Loremaster before everything gets changed underneath me.

    • Thanks for responding, Redbeard.

      Believe me, I realize that many of the goals can be combined. I still feel overwhelmed and a little lost as to where to focus.

      As I said in my post, I had been and should be focusing on my raider and on leveling my druid, but I’m feeling restless.

      /facepalm

      And now you’ve reminded me of yet another goal I want to achieve. The good thing is that I’ve got a plan for my Seeker/Loremaster toon, and I’m waiting for Cata to do it. The only question is which toon will get to be my Seeker/Loremaster.

  2. nowiamtree says:

    I get that feeling everytime I look at the house and garden and what needs repairing, and where to start. I’m still not very good at doing this, because the list’s as long as…well, your list here! It’s overwhelming, and I often want to curl up and cry when I think about it, to run away and hide!

    But I’m working on a plan. Take one thing at a time. Do a little a day, and bit by bit, I’ll get there. Take one of the things on your list, just one, one which appeals to you, and make a start. A little bit at a time. I like Readbeard’s idea, it kills two birds with one stone. And when one thing’s done, the list looks a teeny tiny bit less daunting!

    Besides there’s nothing wrong with being restless at times, and having a bit of a break from one thing. We have holidays in real life, we’re allowed them too in WoW!

    • Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      You’re right, taking things one at a time is really the way to go. The trouble is that I’ve had a lot of these goals for a very long time. I’m getting impatient, I guess, and worried that I’ll never be able to accomplish them all.

      But then again, if I accomplish them all, then what is left for me to do in the game? Hehe

Leave a Reply

