When Blizzard Makes Mistakes

Larisa at The Pink Pigtail Inn has made an intriguing commentary about the Direbrew event and how it is broken here. And she is absolutely right.

Do you want to know how I know this?

Because my computer is slightly less than uber for gaming, I sometimes run into very long load screens when I enter instances. It doesn’t happen every time, but it happens often enough that I am aware of the issue (guildies will sometimes ask what took me so long).

Most people will wait for all members to be there before beginning an instance. Not so with the Direbrew event. I actually entered the Direbrew event after a long load screen (20 seconds seems like an eternity sometimes) and found everyone dropping group, and me left with no chance at loot, no receiving frosty badgers in a keg, do not pass Go, do not collect $200.

What did I get? A chance to re-queue for a “dungeon” I should have just completed.

I guess I should be happy they didn’t kick me.

I appreciate that Blizzard is busy working hard to make Cataclysm the best that it can be, but shouldn’t they make what is currently being played playable? I would have rather foregone the entire event than have it play out like this. It makes the simple act of choosing a role for the event absurd. It turns the whole event into a joke, and not the good kind.

I know what you’re all thinking. You don’t have to do the Direbrew event. And you’d be right. I’m a firm believer in doing what is fun and not doing what is not fun, regardless of the consequences (Frost Mage here I come!). I have weighed the pros and cons, and free frosty badgers wins every time. So despite my grumpiness at a broken event, I am not boycotting, even though I should be.

Hopefully this is not a farce that is destined to be repeated with future holiday events. Please, Blizz, I’m begging you.

Leave a Reply

